The Holiday for Mamas

There have been so many amazing firsts since I’ve become a mama. That first squeeze of the finger by my little one, that first time I held him in my arms, that first time I kissed his little feet, that very first diaper change. Okay, so that first diaper change wasn’t amazing, but I’ll never forget how long it took me, how I wondered if I would ever be able to do it in under 20 minutes time, and how in awe I was that this little person depended on me and his daddy for everything.

More recently there has been that first real smile, that first giggle, that first honest look of recognition that Papa Pickles and I were in Mr. Pickles presence. (Can I just say how my heart has continued so skip a beat every ding dang time I’ve seen that smile?!) And this past weekend was my very first Mother’s Day.

So much love.

The day was absolutely perfect. Papa Pickles gave all the credit to Mr. Pickles but I think he might have had something to do with the yummy breakfast, gorgeous flowers, framed photo of our son, and the fun new diaper bag I desperately needed to haul all of Mr. Pickles must haves around (and be stylish doing it!). Calls, cards, texts, oodles of Facebook messages, and even a Skype session came from loved ones making me feel like the luckiest mama in the entire world — as if having Mr. Pickles didn’t already make me that?!

Before my boys swept me away to a super secret location for a picnic lunch, we stopped by to see Nana Pickles to wish her a happy day, too.

We love our boys.

The weather was perfect as we settled to have a yummy lunch near the mountains. It was actually also my first time nursing Mr. Pickles in public because I forgot the bottle nipples and burst into tears thinking the perfect afternoon my sweetie planned for me was ruined because our little guy was hungry and his mommy forgot the crucial part of his bottle! Then, it occurred to me, “Mama, you HAVE his food so just go ahead and nurse him.” That might sound like a no-brainer but I had yet to nurse my child anywhere but the comfort of our home and I was really nervous. Really, though, it was a piece of cake. Papa Pickles grabbed the picnic blanket and I threw that on top of a cozy Mr. Pickles so he could chow while we chowed, too. Talk about a complete reminder that I am indeed a mama! 😉

I’m so thankful for that perfect day and can’t believe how lucky I am to be the mother of a ridiculously amazing little boy.

Happy mama.

So here’s to another first as a mama; what a wonderfully amazing day. I look forward to many more firsts ahead (oh and to the fact that it no longer takes me 20 minutes to change a diaper. This gal is a pro!).

Leave a Reply

